BOTW: 2018.06.26


June 26, 2018

Speed Chess Knockout Qualifier

A four player knock-out match to qualify for the 2018 Speed Chess Championship, which includes  Caruana, Mamedyarov, Nakamura, Karjakin, So, MVL, Grischuk, Aronian and more... essentially, all the world's top players except Carlsen (who won in 2017). 2018 Speed Chess Championship

Players (rank based on rating):

  1. Eric Hansen (Canada)
  2. Georg Meier (Germany)
  3. Leinier Dominguez (Cuba)
  4. on Ludvig Hammer (Norway)


  • 5 games of 5+1
  • 5 games of 3+1
  • 10 games of 1+1

Hansen plays Hammer in round 1, and the winner plays the winner of Meier - Dominguez. Hansen is the clear favourite in the first round, if only because he is a much better bullet player than Hammer. Meier may be the slight favourite overall, as he has consistently won the blitz and bullet arena events over the past few months.

Live Games 1pm Eastern
Commentary: IM Daniel Rensch and GM Robert Hess