2018 Canadian Olympiad Teams

The players for both the Canadian men's and women's Olympiad teams have been announced:

Men's Team 

  • GM Aman Hambleton
  • GM Eric Hansen
  • GM Alexandre LeSiege
  • IM Nikolay Noritsyn
  • GM Razvan Preotu

Women’s Team

  • Lali Agbabishvili
  • WFM Svitlana Demchenko
  • WIM Agnieszka Matras-Clement
  • WIM Maili-Jade Ouellet
  • WGM Qiyu Zhou


  • Names above are listed in alphabetical order. Actual board order will be determined by the Captains, who will be selected by the players.
  • Preotu, Demchenko and Matras-Clement will be playing in their first Olympiads.
  • All five of the top-rated women accepted their invitations. Two of the men -- 2016 Olympiad board 2 silver medalist GM Anton Kovalyov, and current Canadian Champion GM Bator Sambuev -- both declined.
  • Yuanling Yuan, Canada's top-performing woman at the previous two Olympiads, was not eligible due to an insufficient number of rated games.

2018 Chess Olympiad

The Chess Olympiad is an 11 round Swiss-system 4-player team tournaments, held in two sections: women and open. It is held every two years and is the largest elite level tournament on the chess calendar. In 2016 a total of 304 teams were entered in the two sections, with the USA taking the open and China winning the women's.

The 43rd Chess Olympiad will be held in Batumi, Georgia -- on the east coast of the Black Sea, just north of Turkey -- September 23 - October 7, 2018.

Olympiad Homepage