BOTW: 2017.08.02

2017 Sinquefield Cup
August 1-12, 2017

A 10-player round robin including only players from the world's top 16 and featuring the world's top 3:

    • 1 Magnus Carlsen
    • 2 Wesley So
    • 3 Fabiano Caruana
    • 5 Levon Aronian
    • 7 Hikaru Nakamura
    • 8 Maxime Vachier-Lagrave
    • 10 Viswanathan Anand
    • 12 Sergey Karjakin
    • 15 Ian Nepomniachtchi
    • 16 Peter Svidler.

Games begin daily at 1 pm Central, 2pm EST (GMT-5). 

Live Commentary with GM Yasser Seirawan, WGM Jen Shahade & GM Maurice Ashley:

http://grandchesstour.org/2017-grand-chess-tour/watch-live-1


Chess.Com Speed Chess Championship
August 3, 2017

1 pm EST, 10 am Pacific.

The 16-player online knock-out event continues August 3 with GMs Alexander Grischuk against Richard Rapport

The format is 3 hours of online play, broken into four formats:

  1. 90 minutes of 5+2 blitz, 
  2. 60 minutes of 3+2 blitz,
  3. 30 minutes of 1+1 bullet,
  4. one chess960 game in each time control.

Grischuk is the heavy favourite, but Rapport's offbeat style should make it interesting. If you haven't wached before, give it a try: despite it being blitz the quality is usually very high, and the players typically have their webcams on, and are more expressive than in standard OTB chess.

Live Commentary by GM Robert Hess and IM Danny Rensch:

https://www.chess.com/tv

http://www.twitch.tv/Chess

Category: